Congratulations on being the volunteer spotlight of the month! Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

“I was born and raised in Texas. I have two amazing sisters who I can never thank enough for all of their support and love. Currently, I live in Colorado with my wife and our dog. We have lived here for eight years and we love it. We can often be found outside in the Colorado sunshine. I have a BA in comparative religion and now I design training for an insurance company.”

How long have you been volunteering with EDF?

“I started volunteering with EDF in 2018. I am so thankful to be a part of this amazing community.”

What have your roles been as a volunteer?

“I started with EDF as a receptionist where I got to meet so many great people. Since then, I have worked as a mentor and I enjoy volunteering for various EDF community events. Recently, I volunteered to provide additional support for other mentors as a mentor leader and I will be on the mentor outreach team!”

Why did you choose to volunteer at EDF?

“When I learned that Denver is a hub for eating disorder treatment, I searched for different volunteer opportunities and I landed on EDF. As a volunteer with EDF, I feel connected to a community full of love and support for each other. I feel grateful to have the opportunity to share my experience in a way that might benefit someone else and to be able to meet and learn from so many incredible people.”

What are your top values and why?

“Hmm.. this is a hard question! I think my top values are fun, compassion, and learning. I love learning about anything and everything because it allows me to understand the world from different perspectives. I am not always very good at having fun, but it is a top value because I think that it is such an important part of recovery. As for compassion, I believe that it is important to cultivate compassion for ourselves and for others. This is a lifelong process and I am thankful for the ways in which EDF has deepened my understanding of compassion.”

What do you like to do on your free time?

“I love to read, drink coffee, be outside, ride my bike, spend time with family and friends, try new foods, and enjoy time with my wife!”